Mom Das

Day 1

May has started

And so has the Challenge

Each day a piece of garment designed, stitched or revamped by me

For Myself or my daughter Aarotrika!

The skirt is new.

Very simple..

Simpler than the petticoat…

So easy to stitch and wear.

Day 1

Day 2

We went for dinner the other night and here is a pic from the venue site.

I loved the block jungle print with gold in between.

Here I made a short kurti or top for myself.

Day 2

Day 3

This a short shirt made by me

Sleeveless with colar and side slits…

It is well fitting and goes very well with trousers, jeans, skirts…

Day 3

Day 4

This dress is made of two fabrics:

Block printed light pink textured fabric and

Double shaded thread weave south cotton in aubergine/violet fabric.

There is alternate fabric piping to highlight the edgings..

The lower part is simple A line cut…

There are purple buttons at the back..

Most lovely part: It has small gungroos/bells sewn in the waist which tinkle softly with every movement. Just love the sound..

Day 4

Day 5

Today also I have for you a dress I made for my daughter.

Actually got extra length of fabric

So made a frock for Aarotrika and

A kurta for myself which I shall share tomorrow…

Day 5

Day 6

Simple A-line kurta with side slits,

Square yoke

With bottle green piping

Paired with off-white churidaar/lowers.

Day 6

Day 7

The fabric is Mekhela or wrap around from certain part of Assam, India.

The cloth is woven with a border in the lower part only.

This particular fabric is a check weave with yellow and dark blue threads

With woven border in lower part in yellow, white, green and blue.

This is like a shirt dress without collar.. Front button down…

Day 7

Day 8

It is a short fitting top with side slits.

The fabrics are: White textured cotton with blue and sky blue abstract flowery spots, and Indigo dyed cotton…

The neck line is interesting And embellished with thin silver ribbon.

Day 8

Day 9

Some thing different?

How about a simple wrap around?

Day 9

Day 10

Today and tomorrow I share some Old world Charm we all enjoyed as children! A slip made of pure fine cotton fabric with little embroidery..

Day 10

Day 11

Yet another slip for my daughter.

Love the feel of pure white fine cotton against the skin.. Here is a Rabbit running around with a bunch of flowers..

Again simple stitches as stem, chain and button hole.

Day 11

Day 12

Love hand loom, hand crafted products.

This is a straight cut kurta with three quarter sleeves.

Made from Kalamkari hand blocked cotton fabric. Kalamkari way of motifs and painting are very specific to their own styles.. and they use natural dyes.

Have used indigo fabric for yoke and piping.. embellished the yoke with big mirror embroidery using red threads on indigo yoke.

I can wear this kurta/top with indigo/burnt red/beige lowers

Day 12

Day 13

Peasant top made of cotton printed fabric.

Added a few beads for show in the the little “V” of the neck..

The edges and the sleeves have red crochet lace…

Day 13

Day 14

Today I share the Pillow Case Top…

Simplest of the sew projects.

I used printed chiffon fabric with contrasting bold pink satin fabric.

Day 14

Day 15

Today I have an easy craftilious sew project for anybody who can hold needle and thread and do simple hem. Wear it anyway you like!

Very simple!

Yet, Stylish!!

Day 15

Day 16

I made a circular yoke on A-line kurta..

And embellished it with subtle embroidery…

Day 16

Day 17

Here is a little frock I made for a two year old when I first met her. Niranjana, she is smart and sweet little daughter of my friend.

The frock is made of south cotton fabric in orange colour and has soft pink lace adding to its beauty.

I made a little lace flower in the corner too!

Day 17

Day 18

What am I wearing?

Dupatta/stole and A-line kurta made of gold and mauve weave Chanderi fabric and churidaar/lower made of cotton camric fabric.

I like the straight boat neck of this kurta..

Day 18

Day 19

When I noticed a T-shirt of my Hubby, which he had stopped wearing for quite some time. And thanks to inspirations from other blogers and pinterest, came up this project of easy refashion.

Day 19

comments powered by Disqus